Skip to main content

New Year honours for NHS England directors and hospital chiefs

Published on: 3 Jan 2023

NHS England directors and hospital chief executives were among those included in the 2023 New Year’s honours list.

Mayur Lakhani, former chair of West Leicestershire Clinical Commissioning Group, the National Council for Palliative Care, and the Royal College of GPs, was knighted for services to general practice.

Ann Radmore, who retired as NHSE’s regional director for the East of England last April after 40 years in the NHS, was awarded a CBE for services to the NHS. She had previously been chief executive of Kingston hospital, London Ambulance Service, and south west London primary care trusts.

Lesley Watts, chief executive of Chelsea and Westminster Hospital Foundation Trust, was also awarded a CBE. A trained nurse, Ms Watts was also one of HSJ’s top 50 CEOs last year. CBEs also went to Deborah Sturdy, chief nurse for adult social care at the Department for Health and Social Care; and Yvette Oade, former NHSE North East and Yorkshire interim medical director, and former medical director of several hospital trusts.

MBEs were awarded to Minal Bakhai, GP and director of primary care transformation at NHS England, for services to general practice during the pandemic; Caroline Reid, regional director of commissioning at NHSE, for services to the covid-19 vaccination programme in the South East of England; and Jane Clegg, NHSE chief nurse for London.

OBEs in the health and care sector included Jennifer Hall, director of nursing and clinical delivery for the covid-19 vaccination programme at NHSE; Karen Howell, chief executive of Wirral Community Health and Care Foundation Trust; and Andy Welch, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Foundation Trust medical director.

Professor Sir Michael Marmot, director of the UCL Institute of Health Equity, was appointed a Companion of Honour for services to public health. The prestigious award recognises a a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine or government and is limited to 65 people at any one time.

The full list can be found here.